Ajvar

Oooh how I love ajvar. It’s up there with Turkish coffee (seen above), zacusca, baklava, and now that I’m living in wine country, grapes, for my all-time favorite Balkan foods. There are plenty of other contenders (qyfte, sarma, flija, dalma, the crazy delicious “fish of the day” I ate in Albania) but ajvar is more or less king for me. And the getting is good right now since it is ajvar-cooking season. Perhaps to my cultural-experiencing detriment I missed out on helping to make it (although I’m not all that heartbroken since the continuous roasting, peeling, and grinding process is rough on the hands) but I am surely not going to miss out on helping to eat it!

2 thoughts on “Ajvar

Leave a Reply

