Tavan

Although I would hesitate to call this room above the main living area of our house a roof, “tavan” is the word my host mother uses for it and that translates as such. I would probably sooner call it an attic, which Google Translate tells me is “papafingo”, but I have definitely never heard anyone in Kosovo use that word. So.

In either case, our tavan is good for all kinds of things. A lot of the cooking gets done on the stairs leading here, I’m not sure why. That’s just where my host mother keeps the gas burner she uses for pan/pot cooking. The grapes are stored up here. And it’s where the laundry gets hanged. Here’s to not having to go fully outside to hang my laundry my winter, a la my life in Georgia when the family had already occupied all the indoor hanging space.

 

Leave a Reply

