Baba Agush

I held off posting this one for a while because I was trying to find some more information about it, but oh well. This seems to be some kind of burial site or symbolic burial site in my town. It’s located very casually, just on the sidewalk as you head up into the hills that surround my town on all but one side. Baba suggests that it’s of religious important as does that fact that inside that little grate you can see melted down candles. Behind it, if you climb up and through that hole in the wall, is the Serbian cemetery that is falling into disrepair. I don’t know who this is and the only results I was able to find when looking for answers suggested he was a Ottoman governor in present day Bulgaria. Other than that this remains an intriguing mystery to me.

Leave a Reply

